Executive Board

2014-2015 Executive Board

2016-2017 Executive Board Members

The High Country Council of Governments Executive Board meets ten times per year. All meetings are held at 7:00 pm on the third Monday of each month, with the exception of January and September. Meetings are held in the High Country Council of Governments Board Room at 468 New Market Boulevard in Boone, NC. Map and directions can be found here. All meetings are open to the public.

Board Member
Chair: Brenda Lyerly, Mayor Banner Elk
Vice Chair: Johnny Riddle, Commissioner, Chair Yancey County
Secretary: Chris Jones, Council Member Sparta
Treasurer: Valerie Jaynes, Mayor Newland
Paul Robinson, Jr. Minority Representative
Mark Evans, Commissioner, Chair Alleghany County
William Sands, Commissioner, Chair Ashe County
Blake Vance, Commissioners' Vice Chair Avery County
Charles Vines, Mayor Bakersville
Renee Castiglione, Mayor Beech Mountain
Doug Matheson, Council Member Blowing Rock
Rennie Brantz, Mayor Boone
Theresa Coletta, Mayor Burnsville
Tudor Vance, Mayor Crossnore
Joel Whitley, Council Member Elk Park
Mark Johnston, Alderman Jefferson
Michelle Slaton, Alderwoman Lansing
Vern Grindstaff, Commissioner, Chair Mitchell County
Robert L. Johnson, Mayor North Wilkesboro
Sandra P. Simmons, Town Commissioner Ronda
Larry Fontaine, Mayor Seven Devils
Darla Harding, Mayor Spruce Pine
Gunther Jöchl, Mayor Pro Tem Sugar Mountain
Larry Turnbow, Commissioner Watauga County
Dale Baldwin, Mayor West Jefferson
Russell Ferree, Mayor Pro Tem Wilkesboro
Gary D. Blevins, Commissioner, Chair Wilkes County