The High Country Council of Governments (HCCOG) is designated by both state and federal governments as the official agency for the administration of various funds and programs.  High Country COG is a Local Development District of the Appalachian Regional Commission, an Economic Development District of the US Department of Commerce’s Economic Development Administration and an Area Agency on Aging. The State of North Carolina recognizes HCCOG as the Lead Regional Organization for the seven counties and is designated by the Governor as the Local Area for administering the Workforce Investment Act.  The Region D Development Corporation, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that assists eligible small business concerns through the Small Business Administration’s 504 loan program. The Council is a designated agency for Rural Transportation Planning (RPO). The HCCOG is involved in the communities of northwestern North Carolina in many ways; from the care of older adults to water, sewer, GIS services, transportation planning and workforce development. The Council provides services and resources which might not otherwise be affordable or available to local governments.


Council Purposes:

    • To offer professional and technical services to individual member governments
    • To provide services for member governments that can best be provided on a regional basis
    • To serve as a forum for discussion of regional problems and interests and to promote good intergovernmental relations among member governments
    • To facilitate effective communications among member governments
    • To promote the coordination of other regional public agencies of the seven county area in order to help ensure that public efforts act cooperatively to avoid duplication
    • To promote, on a regional an statewide basis, the individual efforts of member governments
    • To serve as a consensus voice for its member governments on matters mutually impacting or affecting them


Council Membership:
The Council membership consists of the region's seven county governments and 19 municipalities:



Alleghany County

Mitchell County

          Town of Sparta

          Town of Bakersville

Ashe County

          Town of Spruce Pine

          Town of Jefferson

Watauga County

          Town of Lansing

          Town of Beech Mountain

          Town of West Jefferson

          Town of Blowing Rock

Avery County

          Town of Boone

          Town of Banner Elk

          Town of Seven Devils

          Town of Crossnore

Wilkes County

          Town of Elk Park

          Town of North Wilkesboro

          Town of Newland

          Town of Ronda

          Town of Sugar Mountain

          Town of Wilkesboro


Yancey County


          Town of Burnsville


Executive Board Membership:
One delegate is appointed by each respective local government to serve as a member of the Council's Executive Board of Directors. Additionally, it is the responsibility of the Executive Board to establish Council policy and to provide guidance to the Council Staff concerning the implementation of those policies. The Executive Board conducts monthly meetings, which are open to the public, to address opportunities, needs and problems of importance to the regional community. The Board also includes a Minority Representative. For a current listing of Executive Board Members, click here.